South Florida residents included in Jamaica’s 2017 National Honors.

first_imgHugh Osborne Vance Carter Carlos Malcolm Senior Superintendent of Police Vance Carter was honored with the Order of Distinction in the rank of Commander (CD) for “dedicated service to the Jamaica Constabulary Force and the Jamaica Consulate in Miami.” Carter has served as a senior member on the staff of the Jamaican consulate for the past several years. Two members of the Jamaican Diaspora in South Florida were included in the list of several Jamaicans who received national honors and awards coinciding with the 55th anniversary of Jamaica’s independence. Hugh Glaister Osborne, founder and president of Caribbean Oceans Logistics one of the leading Caribbean-American owned shipping company in South Florida was honored with the Order of Distinction in the rank of Officer for his “sterling contribution to the Jamaica Diaspora in Miami.” Also honored was Jamaican musician and Palm Bay, Florida resident Carlos Malcom, trombonist and former leader of the Jamaican band, Carlos Malcom and the Afro-Jamaican Rhythm. Malcom has been honored with the Order of Distinction for “ dedication to producing, preserving and presenting Jamaican music as a richly diverse musical form.”Bunny Wailer receives top honor The top award in the list of 2017 honorees went to Neville O’Reilly ‘Bunny Wailer’ Livingstone. The former member of The Wailers, the ban that accompanied the legendary Bob Marley was honored with the Order of Merit. Jamaica’s third highest national honor, “for outstanding contribution in the field of popular music.”Other recipients include:MVP head coach Stephen Francis – the Order of Jamaica (OJ), for his outstanding service to track and field.Phillip Gore – the Order of Jamaica for contribution to housing development, entrepreneurship and philosophy.Montego Bay businessman Anthony “Tony” Hart – the Order of Jamaica for business, community development and humanitarianism,Police Commissioner George Quallo – the Order of Distinction (Commander rank).Major General Rocky Meade (Jamaica Defense Force) – Order of Distinction (Commander rank).Christopher Gayle – Order of Distinction (Commander rank) for outstanding service to Jamaica and West Indies cricket for the past 20 years.Theodore Eccliston “Tappa’ Whitmore – the Order of Distinction (Officer rank) for “contribution to sports, national and international, in particular football as a player and coach.Joseph Alphanso “Josey Wales” Sterling for significant contribution to the Jamaican music industry.The recipients of the 2017 National Honors and Awards will be presented with their medals by Jamaican Governor General Sir Patrick Allen at Kings House on National Heroes Day in October.last_img read more